top of page
  • May K.

Hoping and Waiting

Days come and nights pass

The sun rises and the moon sets

Time flows with terrible consistency

And all is soon! But not yet


Not yet. The time has not come

But who knows when it will?

For how long will I stand by the door

And continue waiting still?


For a sign, for a promise

For a tomorrow I still believe

Will come if I keep on waiting

And grant my heart some relief


For it’s burdened with hope as I stand

Waiting at the door

And until the last second falls

I’ll hope and hope some more


In spite of fears, in spite of doubts

For hope’s a tenacious beast

That has latched onto my heart

With a hold it will not release


But oh it’s trying to wait

To see the sunset and nothing more

To let hope fade and then grow

So I can wait some more


To fall with pain, to sooth with sighs

To stand up with a persistent smile

But I’ve done it for years

What more’s a little while?


So I’ll stand by the door

For lo! Tomorrow’s coming

And so long as it comes

I’ll keep on hoping and waiting


Copyright © 2020 by Kwek Yi Zhen

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Chair beneath the Tree

How forlorn that chair is Resting there on its own How sad and grim it is That companionable seat, alone

Castles in the Sky

I should like to lie in a garden And look up at the sky Where the clouds would freely roam And the gentle birds would fly

Winds of Memory

The wind sings with memory And I remember each time and place When I closed my eyes in appreciation As it blessed me with its grace

bottom of page