top of page
  • May K.

What God is

People tell me in times of trouble

To trust in God above

That he would give me what I want

With kindness and with love


Well forgive me my skepticism

For I’ve read too many tales

To believe God will do as I want

And that he always will


Abraham was promised a son

He had to wait so many years

Jacob, his claim to his birthright

But only after much pain and tears


Everyone would bow to Joseph

But first he bowed as a slave

Moses was to lead a nation

But narrowly escaped the grave


Job was to lose everything

And then regain it all

Ruth would be the mother of Kings

But lose her husband and more


David was anointed King

But ended up running for his life

And if that wasn’t enough

He actually did it twice


Elijah was the prophet

Who would never know death

But in life was alone

Without friends and bereft


So don’t say because my prayers aren’t answered

That it means I’m alone

Is the God who gives me all I ask

The only God I’ve known?


Paul was executed

And Peter too

Mary was shamed

Would you say God left them too?


For I know he never left

In trials he was by their side

And you know God is never wrong

Somehow this must be right


So don’t tell me God will do as I want

For the years have taught me this

I will not trust in what God does

I will trust in what God is


Copyright © 2019 by Kwek Yi Zhen


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rejoicing

An Easter Poem Come laugh with me! Oh laugh! Come sing with me! Let’s sing! Singing is too weak so let us dance! Oh what joyful news we bring! The tomb is open! Open! The stone has been rolled away! N

Waiting

A Holy Saturday Poem Waiting. I am still waiting Waiting and waiting still For what exactly? I do not know But I’ll keep waiting still Light of lights has fallen They say darkness will now reign Someh

Darkness Falls

A Good Friday Poem I am nothing. Worthless Not even worth a thought Or a tear, or a moment But that’s all I’ve ever sought Did I perhaps sense the gulf? The heartbreak? The isolation? That though with

bottom of page