top of page
  • May K.

Waiting

A Holy Saturday Poem


Waiting. I am still waiting

Waiting and waiting still

For what exactly? I do not know

But I’ll keep waiting still

 

Light of lights has fallen

They say darkness will now reign

Somehow the world seems a shadow

And waiting is a silent pain

 

That aches, that burns, that slumbers not

Long it makes the hours

Yet we must wait. Wait!

Victory will yet be ours

 

There was a promise he made before he died

But now I cannot remember

Why does it seem important though?

Is Death not forever?

 

Light of lights. Light of lights

Into the darkness did descend

No. No, it cannot be

This is not the end!

 

So wait. Wait. Keep waiting still

Waiting is the hardest thing

To keep hoping, to keep believing

In whatever the Lord will bring

 

When there is naught but silence

Naught. Indeed, nothing

Good is quiet while Evil dances

With victory drunk it sings

 

It seems the world has ended

Even before it has begun

Whipped, killed, crucified

Oh! They killed God’s son!

 

But no! No! I’ll keep waiting

Waiting and waiting still

Despair will take all it can

But my hope it never will

 

So wait, somehow, wait

Another minute, an hour, a day

Wait! Give me strength to wait!

Are the words with which I pray

 

For darkness cannot vanquish the light

Though, really, it seems we lost

I am freed. I am redeemed

But oh! At what a cost!

 

Please. Please. Please

Let us wait not in vain

Give us strength for this agony

Near drives us insane

 

Hope is coming! It is coming!

But I don’t know yet when or how

It’s not the end! I don’t believe it

But victory? How?

 

Never mind. Time answers all things

My task is simply to wait

Wait for an answer, wait for a moment

Wait for the truth?

 

I will wait.


Copyright © 2024 by Kwek Yi Zhen

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rejoicing

An Easter Poem Come laugh with me! Oh laugh! Come sing with me! Let’s sing! Singing is too weak so let us dance! Oh what joyful news we bring! The tomb is open! Open! The stone has been rolled away! N

Darkness Falls

A Good Friday Poem I am nothing. Worthless Not even worth a thought Or a tear, or a moment But that’s all I’ve ever sought Did I perhaps sense the gulf? The heartbreak? The isolation? That though with

Christmas 2020

Empty chairs and vacant halls Lonely streets and quiet malls Christmas is here, the façade's the same But oh everything seems so changed

bottom of page