top of page
  • May K.

Christmas 2020

Empty chairs and vacant halls

Lonely streets and quiet malls

Christmas is here, the façade's the same

But oh everything seems so changed


Absence and echoes where there were none before

Missing footprints on the snow fall

A screen on a phone for a smile to our face

A meal alone instead of a gathering place


Oh where's the Christmas heart and cheer?

Where’s the spirit that rejoices the year?

Where's the laughter? The joy? The fun?

Where's the promise? Where's the Son?


Sometimes it feels to ask in vain

In the silent tomb of pain

Sometimes it feels like empty space

Is all the fills this gathering place


Yet as the lone meal is set

I hear a voice saying, “Don’t forget!”

And somehow it seems to me

This place isn’t quite so empty


For a promise has filled the void

A remembrance I can’t avoid

Of times now past, of times to be

That our now is not eternity


And at the table, across time and space

I see into that eternal place

Where all are gathered together as one

To celebrate the birth of the Son


I see them there, our family

Unbroken by sorrow or misery

Cheers and laughter with glasses raised

The air singing with songs of praise


A promise, a remembrance, as the vision fades

And before me the lone meal is laid

For though this moment we must be strong

It’s to that hope that we belong


So as I sit alone, I’ll pray

And say thanks for this Christmas day

For that promise to which I hold on

And Thank God for my savior was born


Merry Christmas, Everyone. Still.


Copyright © 2020 by Kwek Yi Zhen

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rejoicing

An Easter Poem Come laugh with me! Oh laugh! Come sing with me! Let’s sing! Singing is too weak so let us dance! Oh what joyful news we bring! The tomb is open! Open! The stone has been rolled away! N

Waiting

A Holy Saturday Poem Waiting. I am still waiting Waiting and waiting still For what exactly? I do not know But I’ll keep waiting still Light of lights has fallen They say darkness will now reign Someh

Darkness Falls

A Good Friday Poem I am nothing. Worthless Not even worth a thought Or a tear, or a moment But that’s all I’ve ever sought Did I perhaps sense the gulf? The heartbreak? The isolation? That though with

bottom of page